Marchex, MDNH, domain names, and CyberBandits

darren on November 29th, 2006

This is an old post that was private that I decided to make public:

I was doing some domain speculating this weekend & kept running across Marchex sites everywhere. Then I read an article over at dnjournal that talks about Marchex and their $164M investment into direct navigation (domains). So I figured I’d get my hands dirty and see what they really had behind all those numbers. It kind of shocked me…

I wanted to get a sampling of domains owned by Marchex. But first how about companies owned by Marchex.

I found this “sample contract” and this case, which shows that MDNH is in fact a Marchex fully-owned subsidiary (the contract is worth looking at).

This PDF shows some other purchases:

  • Industry Brains $30.6M
  • Enhance & eFamily $13.3M
  • Name Development $155.6M
  • pike street industries $12.5M
  • traffic leader $3.2M
  • goClick $7.5M

Bottom line, they own a bunch of domains and ways to monetize them. Some good domains they own:

  • debts.com, gorillas.com, salsa.com, petshop.com, puppys.com,tornado.com
  • A ton of geo+category (like seattledentist.com)

Some bad spelling ones:

  • ancrstry.com - russian ancestry? replace some of those vowels w/ consonants
  • abercombrie.com - fancy cheese for annoying teens
  • a few ebay typos (webwork convinced me to get/stay out of the TM typo world. I think these guys could stand to buy some of his time)
  • Some gone ones?:
  • adultfind.com - used to be owned by them, now not? getting out of the adult domain business? if so, they still have a long long long way to go (cumaggedon.com, upherbutt.com, xxxsexypussy.net)

One interesting finding is that a lot of their blatant trademark domains have admin contacts of Digi Real Estate Foundation but they are hosted on same ips as many (thousands) of other Marchex-owned domains. My guess is this is the offshore division of Marchex. This faux companyis all over WIPO claims (21 suits filed, they lost all of them - http://domains.adrforum.com). Digi Real Estate Foundation is based out of Panama City, Panama and the address is a PO Box - but I can find no other information about this business.My favorite quote from one of the filings:

“In short, the facts of the present case demonstrate that Respondent is a blatant cybersquatter,typosquatter, and a common cyberbandit.”

Doing a reverse IP you can find even more of their domain portfolio. Here are some/most of the IPs. Do a reverse IP lookup to see all the domains located on that ip. The number in parentheses is the estimated number of domains hosted on that ip. Below the ip is an example of the types of domain hosted there:

  • 66.116.109.60 (5k)
  • 66.116.109.61 (1)
    searching.net
  • 66.116.109.62 (140k)
    moniker private admin - a.ns.ultsearch.com
  • 66.116.109.63 (65k)
    gorillas.com, salsa.com, petshop.com, puppys.com,tornado.com,
  • 66.116.109.64 (75k)
    all 5 digit #s only, zip codes w/ .com & .net
  • 66.116.109.65 (2k)
    mostly porn and trademark typos. interesting about these is some have other admin owners. ip is marchex, name servers are mdnhparking, site design is marchex ppc landing page, but domain owner isn’t?? hmmm
  • 66.116.109.65 (56k)
  • 66.116.109.66 (61k)
    ebayrookie.com
  • 66.116.109.112 (23k)
    moniker private admin- ns.mdnhparking.com
    66.116.125.112 (5k)
  • 67.15.77.192 (36k)
    (digi admin,ns1.dnredirect.com)
    seadooboats.com, searrs.com many more typos.

1 more interesting finding:

yahama.com, gorillas.com, ETC
User-agent: *
Disallow: /

On most of their domain they don’t want them indexed in search engines. They seem to be very content with all the type-in traffic and not letting any bots in at all.

There is a lot I like about marchex. I think it’s incredibly smart that they’ve secured so many good and great domains. Excellent foresight. I also believe they’ve done the right thing in starting their own network so that they have the traffic and the full ad dollar. However, it seems weird that a public company - that Wall St. has seemingly liked - can be so blatantly reckless in some areas. Porn, trademark infringement, offshore divisions, etc. I don’t see how this fringe(?) is necessary when they have so many positives going for them already.

Update: Another online detective recently posted about some Marchex domain juicyness

8 Responses to “Marchex, MDNH, domain names, and CyberBandits”

  1. I think everyone is making too much of a big deal on the “misspelling” domains. Bottom line is people much smarter than myself (investment banks, hedge funds, etc.) are investing big bucks in these type of companies (namemedia.com, oversee.net, demand media) and Marchex is a leader in the industry throwing off over $30 million in cash per year. All these companies have some questionable names in their portfolios, whether misspellings, porn, etc.

  2. Thanks for the comment Jon.

    I don’t think upherbutt.com or abercormbieandfitch.com is questionable. The first is definitely porn and the second is illegal. I’m sure they are hyper aware of their legal exposure, but as an investor I would want addressed & to my knowledge they have never mentioned anything slightly less than white hat in any of their analyst briefings or conference calls.

  3. I would

    -Assume you have heard of Playboy? It is a publicly traded company - porn
    -Assume you hard of MGM - It is a publicly traded company - gambling

    Enough said on those two topics! I only wish Marchex owned sex.com as they would probably be printing cash.

    As far as trademark, I do not see the ambercrombie type names as being Marchex. Where do you see that?

    Aancrstry.com I do see as Marchex, but “ancestry” is not a trademark, not a business. It is a Noun…just like delis. (delis.com is Marchex) Nothing wrong with that.

  4. I would be interested in what service/website you used to find all the Marchex domain names. I can find partial lists, but not all.
    Thanks

  5. I just got two phishes purporting to be from Mid-America Bank with “from:” addresses at account@anti-fraud.com, which home page has “copyright MDNH” at the bottom. All the phonies are sticking together.

  6. Thanks Dean - I don’t think Marchex is doing any phishing stuff - they’re not that bad. Check your email headers to be sure it’s really from that domain - I’m guessing it’s not.

    Regarding Jon’s comments:
    cumshot-images.net is not really the same as playboy. Also, they aren’t putting forth this image and I’m not sure they talk much about porn names. And gambling online is in a very different category than Vegas (I’m not saying it should be, I think it should every bit the same, but point is that it’s not) . I’ll back off and give them the benefit of the doubt since they have SO many domains they’ve inherited - good & bad. …plus I know a few people at Marchex & I like them all.

    reverse whois lookups:
    there are a bunch of different sites out there. My favorite (that’s not up right now) is http://whois.webhosting.info, and domaintools.com is great too. To get all without paging through you’ll have to access through some code and dump into a database.

  7. Jon - one more thing since you asked about abercombrie.com. You have to now check the whois record history to see what it used to be. Before being hosted on trafficz it was being hosted at
    A.NS.MDNHPARKING.COM 66.116.109.47
    B.NS.MDNHPARKING.COM 66.116.109.48

  8. What do you think of the “relaunch” of the 100,000+ Marchex websites?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>